Food Related Links

We woke up yesterday to a land of winter. Fresh snow was piled onto old snow, and the forecast warned of 10 more inches. We had spent the week cross country skiing, preparing trees for maple sugar and sledding. The week of winter fun was over, and we started our return south wearing wool socks and running the car’s heat.

Four hours later, I had removed my jacket, sweater, and socks, and switched the thermostat to cool. When we finally arrived at home, I found spring had proceeded us. The daffodils were budding, and the weather was warm enough to eat outside for the first time this year. I love winter sports and viewing the beauty of the mountains, but I’m so thankful to have sunshine and warmth!

I still have mountains of laundry to fold and put away, but I am allowing the dress shirts to wrinkle in order to share some interesting links with you. I don’t like dieting or fad foods, but I loosely follow the Weston Price diet. Sally Fallon, the author of Nourishing Traditions, is perhaps the most well-known spokesperson for this style of eating.

Nourishing Traditions encourages us to eat as our great- great-grandmas did. It champions soaking grains, cooking with bacon fat and pork lard, eating full-fat, raw dairy, and taking daily cod-liver oil.

I was very skeptical of this high-fat diet when I first flipped through my sister-in-law’s copy of Nourishing Traditions. I was skeptical, but intrigued. I read more by the Weston Price Foundation, Sally Fallon, and mainstream dietetic books and health journals. To my surprise, I have found that much of the information presented by Ms. Fallon has been validated — especially her emphasis on the importance of saturated fats.

Recently, I came across two other articles that support the Nourishing Traditions diet. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.

The Full-Fat Paradox: Whole Milk May Keep Us Lean,” Allison Aubrey, NPR, February 12, 2014

Vitamin D — Could It Stop Modern Disease,” Oliver Gillie, Telegraph, March 10, 2014

About beewhisper

Christian, Mama, Wife, Gardener, Beekeeper
This entry was posted in Bee in the Kitchen, Book Review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

