A Very Important Riddle

Here’s a sweet mind teaser for you:

 

Not fluent in cupcake? I’ll translate.

“One fish, two fish, soon there’ll be a new fish.”

 

 

Still pondering it’s deep meaning? I’ll make it more plain. I’m pregnant!

Our little one is expected to arrive around Halloween, which means I’ve already entered my second trimester. Thus far, I’ve had very few unpleasant pregnancy symptoms, and I’m hoping the next six months will pass as simply.

 

About the cupcakes…

These pistachio cupcakes are iced with cream cheese frosting. The center four are also coated in white modeling chocolate, which proved to be a challenge.

This is what should have happened:

Recipe for White Modeling Chocolate: (adapted from Food.com)

  • 7 ounces white chocolate or Wilton Candy Melts
  • 1.5-2 Tablespoons of Corn Syrup
  1. Melt the chocolate over a double boiler, stirring until smooth. Remove from heat.
  2. Stir in the corn syrup. Chocolate will immediately thicken.
  3. Refrigerate for at least two hours until hard.
  4. Remove and knead chocolate until it becomes pliable.
  5. Roll out and shape as desired.

It sounded easy and more tasty than fondant! I had already had some success using modeling chocolate to make roses for my sister’s wedding cake, and I thought this would be a breeze. Yet, I failed to create the perfect cupcakes I had envisioned.

What not to do when using modeling chocolate: 

1. Use real chocolate on your first (or second) attempt. Real chocolate must be properly tempered to ensure that it melts correctly. I should have either carefully tempered the chocolate or used Wilton’s Candy Melts, which are designed to melt quickly and smoothly.

2. Assume that you can determine the right amount of corn syrup by eyeballing it. Measuring is important! When I added what I believed was the correct amount of syrup, my chocolate seized up and I had trouble stirring it. The time I should have spent decorating was devoted to adjusting the amount of corn syrup to fix my mistake. Despite my efforts, the chocolate cracked when I rolled it out and refused to be molded.

3. Do not wait the full two hours until it hardens. I rushed this process, because I was worried that my baby would wake up from his nap before I finished.

3. Attempt to learn a new skill during a hectic day. I think I made these cupcakes the same day I locked my son in our truck at the shopping center. I should have known that was not a good day to attempt anything technical.

4. Do not use gloves when working with dyed modeling chocolate. My hands were blue for a week. 

About beewhisper

Christian, Mama, Wife, Gardener, Beekeeper
This entry was posted in Bee babies, Bee in the Kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Very Important Riddle

  1. so excited for you guys! I’m starting to get the baby bug again. Every time I hear about new babies on the way, I want another one! All in good time… 🙂 Sounds like yours will be coming right around Elsie’s second birthday! (Oct 14th)

Leave a Reply

