One Sweet Wedding

I’ve finally washed out the last of the hairspray, and my feet have recovered from standing in fancy three heels for a several hours. Now is the perfect time to update you on the wedding cake adventure.

The evening before our trip, my husband and I built a series of insulated cardboard boxes out of discarded cabinet boxes and Styrofoam. Before we left, we carefully set the frozen and wrapped cakes in the boxes along with several scoops of dry ice. Once the boxes were loaded into the car, we wrapped them with heavy sleeping bags, hoping that the cake would stay frozen for the 7-hour journey.

         

At the reception hall, we unpacked the boxes, praying that their contents were not harmed by the trip. Mercifully, the cakes stayed frozen and in perfect shape! The frozen icing did not cling to the the plastic wrap as we removed it. That day and the day after, I returned to the reception hall to complete some final touches to the piped icing.

While finishing the cakes, we discovered that the silhouettes I created out of card stock were not stable enough to serve as cake toppers. We scurried to the craft store to purchase balsa wood, black spray paint and an Exacto-knife. My husband then carefully carved a topper from the wood. We could not achieve the same detail in the wood cut out as could in the paper, but we concluded that it was better to have a less ornate couple stand upright than to have a perfectly detailed couple flop over the cake.

Finally, the day of the wedding arrived. My sister appeared radiant in her a short, sweet wedding dress and fabulous shoes. Her husband’s face glowed as he watched his bride approach. The elaborate ceremony was a lovely reminder of what God intended a marriage to be, and at least one person (me!) was blinking heavily to keep tears from smearing her mascara.

The reception was held at the top of a tower, overlooking the city. The food was fantastic, but I was too nervous about my speech and eager for the cake cutting to truly appreciate it. Despite shaking knees, the speech was delivered clearly and seemed to be enjoyed.

The it was time for the cake cutting! As the leading couple sliced their tiered cake, the staff was placing slices of the 9×13 cakes at everyone’s seat. Thus, we could enjoy our sweets immediately after watching them partake. 

Both cakes were delectable. The light lemon cake was offset by a very dense chocolate torte. They were moist, wonderfully flavored and fabulous. (It seems odd for me, the baker to praise my cakes, but they were really good.) I received numerous compliments from the guests. 

Soon after the cutting ceremony, the bride and groom departed for their honeymoon in a cloud of bubbles, but that was not the end of my cake.

At the end of the reception I had one chocolate cake, the tiered wedding cake and part of a 9×13 cake leftover after the wedding. The top tier was frozen for my sister’s anniversary, and the remainders were brought to church the next day to be shared with the congregation. The worshipers eagerly consumed the cakes, using their fingers when we ran out of forks and spoons. Several remarked that it was the best wedding cake they had tasted.

I loved the challenge of baking a wedding cake and am fascinated by the chemistry, physics and art involved. But, no, I do not think I have the patience to do this professionally. Good friends and family may request a home-baked cake from if they wish and if they prefer taste over beauty.* Like marriages, cakes should be made with and for love, not money.

photo by my father-in-law

 

*There seems to be an inverse relationship between the taste of the icing and how smoothly you can spread it. Thus despite its pristine appearance, I refuse to use fondant.

 

About beewhisper

Christian, Mama, Wife, Gardener, Beekeeper
This entry was posted in Bee in the Kitchen, Buzzing Family and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to One Sweet Wedding

  1. Beth V says:

    Beautiful, Becky! I’ve done cakes before, too (although not a wedding cake) and I agree that no amount of money can really truly pay for all of the work, energy and effort put into it. It is a joy to bake something special for loved ones, but truly delicious cakes take too much time and expensive ingredients to make them cost-effective. No one would pay what they are worth. I agree with you 100% about fondant! Looks like a beautiful wedding day for Gia and her new husband. God is so good!

  2. Mary Y says:

    Becky, I’ve followed your wedding cake baking odyssey with a lot of interest! Over 30 years ago, my grandmother baked my mother’s wedding cake. She enjoyed doing it (she loved few things in life more than baking for her family), but she said it was her first and last wedding cake. The trip from her apartment to the reception hall was about a 20 minute car ride. It was the last weekend in May and I don’t know if the car even had A/C. It gave her a LOT of anxiety. I can’t imagine transporting a tiered cake as far as you did. Very impressive!

    I also love that you won’t use fondant. I used to watch a lot of those baking shows on TV and while the cakes always look amazing, I can’t imagine they taste nearly as good as a slice of my grandmother’s homemade cake with whipped or buttercream icing. Your sister is lucky to have such a talented baker in the family. Congratulations to her and her new husband, and bravo to you for pulling off a beautiful AND delicious cake!

    • beewhisper says:

      Mary, It’s wonderful to hear from you! Thank you for the thoughtful note and for reading my blog. Your grandmother must have been a brave woman to bake a wedding cake as the mother of the bride. I’m sure it was a wonderful treat!

      I give the credit for transporting the cake to my husband. He speared it with the dowel. He also designed the insulated boxes and purchased the dry ice. There are definitely some advantages to marrying a Lehigh engineer. (The down side is that we have silly arguments over whether the English or metric system is more convenient. I teach chemistry and love the metric system.)

      I hope you and your family are doing well! I miss whispering during IR together.

Leave a Reply

