Freezing Iced Cakes

Yes, Virginia, you can freeze an iced cake.

I doubted the quality of a frozen cake. Certainly the cake would become dry and the icing have a slight whiff of freezer, but thankfully neither proved true. While baking the real wedding cake, I also baked a 6-inch experimental cake. I iced late one night, placed it in the freezer until the icing hardened then wrapped it with plastic wrap and awaited until I could find a collection of eager taste-testers.

My husband and I have been rather tired of eating lemon cake. I’ve baked two cakes a week for the past 4 weeks, and each cake must be trimmed before it’s coated in syrup and frozen. Of course we tasted the trimmed portion of the cake – what if I forgot the salt? Or what if I added too much vanilla? (Is there such a thing as too much vanilla?) As a result, we’ve eaten a lot of lemon cake and did not have the appetite for yet another slice.

I woke early last Friday, remembering my mom’s group met that morning. There would be a room full of hungry pregnant or nursing moms craving sugary butter. I crept out of bed, pulled the cake from the freezer, removed its wrapping and let it slowly come to room temperature. The only decoration I managed was a heart of chocolate chips on the top, and that I did instead of preparing breakfast for a hungry hubby and baby or changing out of my flannel pajamas.

When I showed up with the tiny cake, the mothers at my table seemed to appreciate the confection and happily devoured most of the cake. I was relieved to notice that the cake’s flavor and texture was not ruined by spending a week below freezing.

Satisfied with my experiment, I’ll ice and freeze the real wedding cake Monday, and travel down to my sister wedding with the layers separate. When I arrive at the reception hall Thursday, February 23, I’ll assemble the cake and place the final decorations.

Cake to do:

  • Bake and freeze 1 10-inch round cake, 1 8-inch round cake, 2 6-inch round cakes, 6 9×13 cakes
  • Prepare 4 batches of icing and freeze (I’ve made 3 so far.)
  • Ice, freeze and taste practice cake
  • Ice and freeze lemon cakes (Monday)
  • Bake 4 10-inch round chocolate oblivion cakes (Next week)

Here’s a batch of photos completely unrelated to cakes or home building.

                           

                  

 

Enjoy your day! 

About beewhisper

Christian, Mama, Wife, Gardener, Beekeeper
This entry was posted in Bee in the Kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Freezing Iced Cakes

  1. Anne-Marie says:

    Wow… the little guy is growing so much! Super cute :o)

Leave a Reply

