Curtain advice, anyone?

Our wooden-framed, blown-glass windows are being exchanged for more energy-efficient ones. The housekeeper in me is thrilled to see the ancient windows leave. Between the interior window and the exterior storm window was two inches of un-cleanable space that had become a graveyard for stinkbugs and a display window from spiderwebs. As a mother, I also feel relief saying goodbye to the lead-painted wooden frames. Now I no longer need to fear that my son will be chewing on toys rolled in lead dust.

However, one corner of my being, the romantic within sighed to see the old beauties depart. She will miss their rippled glass, painted wood and unique craftmenship. The individual panes of glass set in their frames are being exchanged for  faux framing embedded between larger sheets of glass. Rich, natural wood is being replaced with manufactured vinyl. Certainly, the new ones are easier to clean and safer. They are also factory made, mass produced and no different from any other window on the block.

To distract viewers from the replacement windows, I have been sewing curtains. (Until recently, we had been using blankets and sheets as curtains.) My first set of curtains were part of a nesting instinct that drove me to paint my infant’s room and create a set of curtains to match. I was pleased with the outcome, but not with the price. The fabric — the only type I liked at Jo-Ann’s — cost $100 and fit only two windows. At the time, the cost was worth a pleasing nursery for my future child.

In my postpartum stage, I am less inclined to pay $100 for window dressing and planned to purchase my next set of curtains at Wal-Mart, Target, Kohls, or another department store. But no matter which store I entered I found the same, or nearly the same, selection of curtains.  All were uninteresting, and none that would fit my house’s odd window proportions perfectly.

While considering this quandary, I visited a friend who had decorated her apartment with curtains cut from $10 duvet covers. Brilliant! I thought, and soon purchased two king-sized duvet covers from Ikea for $40.

From these covers, I have created two short and two long curtains. I plan to make bags from the pillowcases using this tutorial.

The fabric lacks the weight of fabric designed for home decor, but a lining gives it more body. Yet, I still think the curtains are bland — perhaps too pretty and not dramatic enough.

Do any of my creative readers have suggestions as to how I could add pizazz to these window draping?

About beewhisper

Christian, Mama, Wife, Gardener, Beekeeper
This entry was posted in Bee-ing Frugal, Hive Building. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Curtain advice, anyone?

  1. Heather D says:

    cheap roman shades under the curtains, and a curtain rod with a fun or interesting finial on the ends?

  2. Rita says:

    You could add a red border at the bottom–then they would be more distinct and really “pop”. A heavy enough border would also help them hang more straight since it would add some weight. The red pattern is pretty though! Have you ever thought of using the pillowcases, as, well, pillowcases? I guess it would only work if you bed spread was reddish or whitish, but it could tie the room together nicely.

  3. beewhisper says:

    Thanks! We were planning on buying some fun rods, and I like the ribbon idea. Hopefully, I’ll find some to match.

Leave a Reply

