Pap smears can be fun?!

Early this week, my midwife hosted an event called a Papluck. Yes, it’s a pap smear and a pot luck in one. Between baby feedings that morning I cooked a pumpkin soup using puree I had made earlier. It was a hurried affair and I barely left the house in time for my appointment. (Fortunately, the midwife lives within walking distance.) While turning from my driveway, the soup spilled all over the car’s carpet. I rescued what I could and brought it into the midwife’s house. The poor soup was doomed. On the way home, I spilled the rest. … Bummer. At least my car smelled a like cinnamon and nutmeg for a couple of days.

Fortunately, there was plenty of other tasty treats at the Papluck, including an incredible butternut squash soup prepared by midwife (recipe follows).

Between appointments, my midwife and her assistant sat down with the women gathered, admired the babies they helped deliver and talked about food and life. There were babies on the floor, chewing toys; babies on laps, cooing or nursing and toddlers snitching from their mother’s plates. It was warm and cozy, not a sterile and cold doctor’s office. I also love that I have a genuine relationship with my midwife. It’s easier to tell her about medical issues and even to remember certain issues I’ve had than it is to speak with a doctor.

Here’s the recipe. I just made a pumpkin version of this last night. It was just as yummy as before.

Savory Butternut Squash Soup

2 T butter
1 yel. onion, diced
1 stalk celery diced
3-4 cloves garlic, minced or crushed
1-3 T fresh ginger minced
3 c diced pumpkin or butternut squash
1-2 cups diced sweet potato
5-6 c veggie or chicken broth
1 cinnamon stick
1/2 t nutmeg
1 t salt
1/4 – 1/2 cup fresh lime juice
1/2 cup white wine or apple cider ( or my mistake which turned out OK – apple cider vinegar)
1/2 c heavy cream

Saute 1st 4 ingred. till browned, 8-10 mins. Add the rest, except cream, lime juice & cider and simmer 30 mins.
puree or leave chunky – add lime, cider and cream (I added a bit of maple syrup and buttermilk, also yogurt, after i realized I had mistakenly used vinegar! I also always add more garlic & ginger to everything)

ginger cream garnish – 1/2 c whipped cream & 1 T minced ginger

About beewhisper

Christian, Mama, Wife, Gardener, Beekeeper
This entry was posted in Bee in the Kitchen. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

